Why not for lunch?

Though I had it for a filling, satisfying, delicious breakfast.
I bought myself a waffle iron at the spring-market at church this Saturday, and since then I have been experimenting.

The first I did, was to use at as a toaster. Had some bread lying around that could need a bit of crispiness.
Then it was waffles.

These ones I had yesterday for breakfast. Chocolate-waffles.
The flour was one third each of chickpea-, coconut- and rice-.  About half a tablespoon of psyllium seeds and chia seeds – each. A hint of sugar and some lemon juice – to help the baking powder. And some oil. Not too much – not too little! It mustn’t be greasy, and it mustn’t be dry. I guess… about 1 – 1,5 tablespoon.
And then of course cocoa powder and a hint of salt. I think that was it!
Well water! Coconut flour takes quite a lot of liquid, and so does the psyllium seeds. I used about 1,5 decilitre. The batter should be thick byt yet somewhat runny.
This gave me 2 waffles. A bit small… but quite enough.

And to this I had chia seeds soaked in coconut milk, some strawberries, a couple of cubes of mango and a small banana. Couldn’t resist some extra coconut milk on top of it all.

And today I had the same – but with cinnamon instead of cocoa powder.
It was so delicious I could die!!!! And I was comfortably full for several hours!

IMG_6933

WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: DINNERTIME
16 Comments

    1. Jag har fått lite noja på våfflor nu. Och man kan ju variera jätte mycket! Men jag har inte en enda gång gjort traditionella, söt, med typ sylt och grädde. Åt i går istället för bröd, med hummus på.

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! 😀
      I’ve gone nuts about waffles since I bought that iron. Instead of bread, with different spices. Cinnamon was totally delicious! And yesterday neutral spiced but with sunflowerseeds, made them crispy and had hommous on.
      Keep on exepriencing! That’s fun, and it tastes soooooo good!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Kan inte välja vilket om är godast. Med kakao eller med kanel. Men fick en annan dag klisterbistert erfara vad som hände med för mycket psylliumfrön i smeten… O_o

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Ja, blir extra mycket experimenterande eftersom jag inte äter vete i någon form. Har mixat mjöl på bovete och mandel idag som jag tänkte prova nästa gång. Och mindre psyllium. HAHAHAHA!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Det är spännande att pröva sig fram. Jag prövade att göra minidonuts på glutenfritt mjöl och det blev riktigt bra. Jag bara bytte ut det vanliga mjölet mot glutenfritt.

            Gilla

          2. Så sant – och det mesta av matlagning och bak här är experimentell. Minns inte senast jag följde ett recept. Har väl kollat nåt specifikt nån gång, men för det mesta svänger jag ihop nåt med det jag har.
            Det värsta i det är väl att när det blir riktigt bra, då vet jag bara på ett ungefär hur jag har gjort. En nypa av ditten och en näve av datten. Typ. Men man har väl nån sorts grundkänsla för hur det ska vara, så det är väl mest numera med alla nya mjölsorter som man inte vet hur mycket vätska de suger åt sig. För jag använder aldrig de där mjölmixerna som är baserade på vetestärkelse heller.

            Liked by 1 person

Kommentarer inaktiverade.